

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

REGULAR MEETING MINUTES

December 08, 2021, 1:30 P.M. 5th Floor Conference Room 840 Research Parkway Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Secretary Ryan Walters, Dr. Joanna Lein, Katie

Nations, Dalton Savage, and John Daniel. Ken

Parker arrived at 1:38 p.m.

COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT: None

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jerry Shay, Jennifer Gambrell, Angie Bookout, Lecrecia Schmidt, David

Kurt, and Ashley Poole

VISITORS: Sarah Kirk, Oklahoma State Department of

Education

Call to Order: Secretary Walters called the meeting to order at 1:37 p.m.

Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call: Secretary Walters asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed. Mr. Parker then entered at 1:38 p.m.

Welcome from Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf: Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Approval of Minutes from the October 20, 2021 Commission Meeting: Secretary Walters made a motion to approve the minutes of the October 20, 2021 Commission regular meeting as submitted. Dr. Lein seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveMr. Savage:approveSecretary Walters:approve

Discussion and Action on a School Counselor Focus Group Report: Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf shared the ACS Ventures Oklahoma School Counselor Focus Group Report, summarizing the research methods and results, as well as the final recommendation from the focus group. Sarah Kirk, School Counselor Specialist with the Oklahoma State Department of Education, provided additional comments supporting the group's recommendation. Dr. Lein made a motion to approve the focus group recommendations. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveMr. Savage:approveSecretary Walters:approve

Ms. Launey-Rodolf then explained the process for a permanent rule change and told the commission it would be added as an agenda item for the next commission meeting.

Discussion and Action on 2022 Meeting Dates: Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf presented the proposed 2022 meeting dates for the CEQA. Dr. Lein made a motion to approve the dates as submitted, along with a requirement that calendar invites be sent to the commissioners. Secretary Walters seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel: approve Ms. Nations: approve Dr. Lein: approve Mr. Parker: approve Mr. Savage: approve Secretary Walters: approve

Proposed Executive Session Pursuant to 25 O.S. §307(B)(1): Secretary Walters made the motion to enter into Executive Session, as authorized by 25 O.S. §307(B)(1) for Commission to "discuss employment, hiring, appointment, promotion, demotion, disciplining, or resignation" of an Interim Executive Director for OEQA. Ms. Nations seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveMr. Savage:approveSecretary Walters:approve

Commissioners entered into Executive Session at 2:23 p.m. Minutes for the Executive Session were taken by Dr. Lein and sealed. Commissioners returned to Open Session at 3:05 p.m.

Vote on Matters Discussed in Executive Session: Sec. Walters announced that the Commission would like to offer the position of OEQA Interim Executive Director to Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf. Dr. Lein made a motion to extend an offer to Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf. Mr. Parker seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

Mr. Daniel:approveMs. Nations:approveDr. Lein:approveMr. Parker:approveMr. Savage:approveSecretary Walters:approve

Program Updates: David Kurt gave updates on SB783.

New Business: Ms. Nations suggested a search firm to find candidates for the OEQA Executive Director position. Dr. Lein then suggested forming a subcommittee for this purpose with Mr. Parker and Mr. Savage. Mr. Savage then recommended Secretary Walters serve on this subcommittee as well.

Announcements: None

The meeting adjourned at 3:27 p.m. The minutes of the December 08, 2021 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted	with corrections
on February 16, 2022.	
Signed:	
Secretary Ryan Walters	Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Director